Celebrating Everyone’s Birthday in Cambodia

Today is the sixth day of the lunar new year, common known as “the people’s day” or “everyone’s birthday. In Singapore, we celebrate it by having Yu Sheng – the celebratory tossing of good fortune.

Well, but I am not in Singapore? I am in Phnom Penh, Cambodia with a friend visiting our three sponsored kids at their orphanages. Today, my friend saw his kid and I will see mine tomorrow. It was meaningful way to celebrate “everyone’s birthday”, with 40 kids in an orphanage in Kampung Spue, 2 hours away from Phnom Penh.

 

There were no tossing of salads, just meaningful time spent with the kids. We sponsored a special meal that featured Cambodian free range chickens and it was really good.

While my friend spent time with his kid, I had a few children hanging around me all the time. There was one hilarious scene when I felt tired and decided to sit on the floor leaning on a wall. A few kids joined me on the floor. Two used my lap as a pillow and I had as many as five kids sleeping besides me.

So I did celebrate “the people’s day”. I celebrated humanity by being with people who need people.

 

Leave a Reply

