How I Ended Up Buying a Tuk Tuk in Cambodia

One thing led to another and I ended up sponsoring a third of this tuk-tuk in Cambodia.

It all started when I came across a Christian conference in Singapore. When I checked out the website of the speakers, I realised that they are also running a conference in Phnom Penh, the capital of Cambodia. Our church has been involved in Cambodia, with many of the church members sponsoring children in Cambodian orphanages. My family sponsors two kids, brother and sister, in one of these orphanages.

Back to the seminar. I thought it would be a good conference for some of the Cambodia church leaders to attend. So I sponsored for a few of them to attend. Our church missionary helped register them. But strangely, the organiser called back to say that they were registered by mistake as the conference was already full and refunded the money.

So the missionary offered to return the money. I asked him what needs they have in Cambodia and he shared about this church in a poor village needing a tuk tuk to ferry people to and from church. The money is only enough to cover one-third of the tuk tuk. So I parked the money with him until the rest of the money was raised.

Less than a month later, he sent me a photo of the tuk tuk that was purchased. I was surprised that the money was raised so quickly. I was also surprised because the tuk tuk in my mind is not the tuk tuk I see in the picture.

After some research, I realised that the tuk tuk in Cambodia is different from the tuk tuk that most of us know from Thailand. In Cambodia, it is a carriage attached to a motorbike.

It looks scary to me. I am not sure it is safe. But I was assured that it is much safer than the ones in Thailand, because it travels much slower. (hey, wait… safer? oh well…)

I guess at the end of this month, I will have chance to see and maybe ride in the the tuk tuk when I visit the two kids I am sponsoring. (safer? really?)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Roy says:

    I am interested i buying a tuktuk for Cambodian Missionaries..any idea of the price ?

    1. jabez25 says:

      We paid about US$600 for the Tuktuk. It is not new and certainly not in the best condition. They church picked it out themselves and we paid for it. It is used to ferry church visitors within the village of about 5,000 households. So it moves much slower and over shorter distances. The Cambodian Tuktuk is basically a carriage attached to the motorbike. The price would vary based on the condition both of the motorbike and the carriage. They can be mix and matched. Just make sure the suspension is good, given that most roads are rough.

Leave a Reply

